A Sgt. Pepper moment!

On our arrival at the Brocante in Sarlat last Saturday morning the first thing that I noticed was a Sgt. Pepper’s costume and wow it did bring back fond memories of the Beatles brilliant album and the area of “flower power”.

I remember my parents not letting me get a ticket to go to a Beatles concert because they thought that they were a bad influence! So I stood outside the concert hall with hundreds of other fans waiting for the Beatles to come out, I was a few inches for Paul.

It is fifty years since Sgt. Pepper Lonely Hearts Club Band was released.
 

Another wonderful memory recalled from seeing this peddle car.

A boy that lived on the same road as my family had a red peddle car for his Birthday that I fell in love with. I was only five or six.
 

This is one of the brilliant things about Brocantes, the memories, whether it is your own memories or other peoples memories. For example; when I look at linen pillow cases that have been embroidered with the initials of the persons name and I wonder who the person was and what history do they have?
 

Wonderful copper pans gleaming in the sun.
 

We found a chair for the veranda and it is so comfy. Unfortunately only one chair so Paul and I are on a “time share”, one hour me, one hour Paul, it works until we find another chair, perhaps at the Daglan Brocante this weekend, 3rd and 4th.
 
 

4 thoughts on “A Sgt. Pepper moment!

  1. I was in grade 11 when Sgt. Pepper Lonely Hearts Club Band came out. There were a group of us that would spend every lunch hour and after school pouring over the album cover looking for the hidden messages. I don’t think we ever found any! Love the chair, hope you find another one.

  2. So glad you couldn’t find any hidden message in grade 11 Janice. For many young people at the time thought that Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds was a reference to LSD. Thanks for the memories Chris, a great blog as usual.

Leave a Reply

