The New Look France for 2016

France’s National Assembly has voted in favour of plans to reduce the number of French Regions from 22 to 13, in a move aimed at cutting costs and reducing bureaucracy. The changes are due to come into effect in January 2016.

On the new map of France, Brittany, Corsica, Centre, lle-de France, Pays de la Loire and Provence-Alps-Cote d’Azur will remain the same. However, the following regions will be joined together to form larger regions: Poitou-Charentes, Aqutaine and Limousin; Midi-Pyrenees and Languedoc-Roussillon; Auvergne and Rhone-Alps; Burgundy and France-Comte; Champagne-Ardenne, Lorraine and Alsace; Nord-Pas-de-Calais and Picardy; and upper and Lower Normandy.

There are currently no plans to change the departments, and names for the new regions are still to be decided. There will also be discussions about which cities will be designated as the capitals of the newly formed regions, and how administrative functions will be organised. I am hoping for less paper work!

French Regions 2016

Click for larger image of the new French Regions


One thought on “The New Look France for 2016

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s